A Formal list…

October 21, 2007

Just for my (and others’?) future reference, here’s a list of the issues I have to straighten out with Ubuntu before I can find it 100% usable, as well as any fixes I’ve found.

  • Desktop effects not enabled. See previous post.
  • Desktop effects slow down scrolling, switching Firefox tabs, etc.
  • Backspace in Firefox does not cause browser to go back to previous page. Change the browser.backspace_action value in about:config to “0″.
  • The location bar search feature of Firefox still doesn’t work!
  • I can’t change the kernel VGA mode.
  • I can’t edit ID3 tags for AAC files.
  • I can’t convert said AAC files to OGG (I already tried using SoundConverter).
  • I don’t know how to install NetBeans.
  • I don’t know how to change the login screen resolution.

And some of the more obvious ones:

  • No Flash plugin. Install the Flash plugin when Firefox prompts you to do so.
  • No Java. Run sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jre sun-java6-sdk.
  • No MP3 playback. Install the “GStreamer extra plugins” and “Ubuntu restricted extras” packages.
  • No DVD playback. (I know there’s a way to fix this, I just haven’t gotten around to doing it.)
4 Responses to “A Formal list…”


  1. I’ve had no problem using the location bar for searching, but I use Firefox as downloaded from Mozilla so it may be yet another “change” Ubuntu made before they get it into the repos. Yes, I had to manually copy my plugins from the “official” Ubuntu folder to the Mozilla-created one, but that wasn’t a problem for me at all.

    Desktop effects do slow things down, but your system is having to process additional instructions and take up RAM for the effects. You can try disabling your effects if you have to run something that needs more resources.

    I don’t have any AAC files but I’ve been able to convert my WMA files (I’m an old Windows user) with a script I found in the forums. My power supply in my comp is dead at the mo, but let me know if you need help finding it and when I get my Linux box back up and running in a few days I’ll try to track it down for you. As far as tagging them goes, you may want to try it in EasyTag (in the repos). That’s what I use to fix the tags in my WMA files after I convert them.

    I’ve run DVD’s in VLC with no problem once I had all my codecs. You may want to try a DVD in that.

  2. aquaboogie Says:

    I did try EasyTag, with no luck. As for the other stuff, I’ll try what you said and update this post as I find more solutions. Thanks for the info and thanks for reading!


  3. [...] praise aside, I still have my peeves. There’s that terribly annoying bug that keeps the Firefox location bar feature from working. [...]

  4. abhishekrane Says:

    I have just order gusty gibbon from the ubuntu site…this will help me a lot wen i get it…Thanks! Nice blog


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

